CREATIVITY CAMPS

Untitled design 14 1120x630

YOUTH ARTS IMMERSION AT McCOLL CENTER

Creativity Camp is a series of week-long, half-day art camps designed for young artists ages 7-16 to spark imagination, encourage self-discovery, and make lifelong connections to many expressions of art.

Each week-long camp will meet daily from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at McColl Center, led by a professional artist who will teach skills in a particular medium and give individual support. Supplies and a detailed lesson plan will be included. In the courses of the camp moderated by McColl Center staff, students will develop technical and conceptual skills with their peers while producing an impressive body of work. At the conclusion of each week, family and friends are invited to experience an Artwork Showcase that will highlight the students’ work.

*Extended day option 12:00 – 3:00pm for an additional cost of $30 per student; an activity and light snacks will be provided.

CLASS OFFERINGS
Fashion 101
Watercolor
Drawing Fundamentals
Digital Illustration
Adventures in Printmaking
Sketchbook + Creative Journaling
Ceramics

June 2023

Monday, June 19 - Friday, June 23, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: FASHION 101

Students will learn how to ideate, sketch, measure, hand sew, and embellish their own stylish wearable products while laying the foundation of practical skills that last a lifetime.

Monday, June 26 - Friday, June 30, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: DRAWING FUNDAMENTALS

The ability to draw is essential for all practicing artists and designers.

July 2022

Monday, July 10 - Friday, July 14, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: ADVENTURES IN PRINTMAKING

Each day will focus on a different technique which will include experimental prints using found objects, using hand-cut stencils and linocuts, and gelatin prints.

Monday, July 17 - Friday, July 21, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: SKETCHBOOK + CREATIVE JOURNALING

Art journaling is an open-ended form of art where the focus is on the process of creating and self-expression rather than a particular result.

Monday, July 24 - Friday, July 28, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: WATERCOLOR

Students will explore important painting techniques, such as: blending, mixing, and paint-handling techniques.

Monday, July 31 - Friday, August 4, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: SCULPTURE STUDIO

Students will be able to develop their own unique vision as they experiment with texture, scale, and space as well as amorphous and figurative forms.

August 2022

Monday, August 7 - Friday, August 11, 2023
CREATIVITY CAMP: DIGITAL ILLUSTRATION

Learn how to create unique artwork using a digital platform.